ENG 3U: Badges are Awesome

Today, I will show you the fancy badge system we will use to track your progress through the self-directed sections of this course. When I showed the system to Ms. Metler, she proclaimed, “Cool! This is just like the Girl Scouts!” I, of course, was thinking that the badges were much closer to video game achievements.

I guess both statements reveal something about the respective speakers.

I should also point out that we have added a new question about voice. Thus, our essential questions are now:

  1. How does this text work?
  2. Who is it for?
  3. Why was it created?
  4. How does the voice of the author/narrator impact my understanding of the text?
  5. What intended and unintended value messages does it contain?
  6.  Have I applied the criteria above to my own work?

Finally, let’s consider intended and unintended value messages in texts. I will begin by showing you a few examples from ads, sports, and video games.

Leave a Reply

