ENG 2D 2012: Something Wicked This Way Comes

Today, we examine Act IV Scene i. In this crucial scene, Macbeth visits the witches to learn more of his fate.

  1. We will watch the scene
  2. You need to add the new prophesies to the Things Witches Say page we started last week

Next, we will try a little in-class writing task. I want you to imagine that you write an Advice Column. Choose one of the following letters, and write a 1/2 to 1 page response to its author. Remember to provide specific advice to the person; use the events of the play as examples:

Dear Advice Columnist,

Though I have a great job–I am actually the President of a major corporation–I’ve been feeling a little uncertain about my position. To be honest, I’m not very proud of the way I got the job; perhaps I shouldn’t have stabbed the former President in the back.

Anyway, I recently visited a fortune-teller to get some advice. Crazy, right? Anyway, the fortune-teller said that I had to watch out for this young executive down the hall; strangely, she also said that I’ll be President of the corporation until pigs fly.

My question is this: should I worry about this guy if I am supposedly safe until something impossible happens?

Sincerely,

The Paranoid President

Dear Advice Columnist,

I am in a real bind. I used to be the assistant captain on the Varsity Rugby team, but I had to give up the position after the team was rocked by scandal. Someone trashed the captain of the team on Facelook, saying that he was not a good leader; because I was next in line, everyone assumed that I was behind the post. Once the captain was kicked out, I left the team.

Now, however, I am starting to suspect that the new captain is actually the one behind the Facelook comments. Some of my former teammates have even hunted me down and asked me to return to the team and take over as captain; apparently, he isn’t much of a leader, and may be responsible for another key player, Banner, being kicked off the team.

Should I return and take my chances?

The Rightful Ruler

Leave a Reply

